Board Members

Ancaster Community Services 2016 – 2017 Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors is comprised of experienced business and community leaders who provide financial, agency and community insight and support to ensure that ACS fulfills its commitment to the community and its residents.

Board members are elected every April at our

Annual General Meeting (AGM) .

 Elizabeth Hodgson (Chairperson) – Elizabeth is a marketing professional and has worked in the financial industry for 2 of Canada’s largest financial institutions for over 9 years in Toronto.  She specializes in direct and digital marketing.  She has lived in Ancaster for over 5 years, serving on the ACS Board of Directors since 2013.  What attracted her most, and ultimately drove her to establish  Ancaster  as “home,” was its beautiful green spaces, community pride, and rich history. She is excited to be part of Ancaster’s future and its evolution in light of its ever increasing population, changing resident diversity, arrival of new businesses, and additions to the architectural landscape. She is proud to lend her expertise to help ACS support the community demands that come with such exciting change. Elizabeth co-chairs the Public Awareness and Fundraising Committees.

Courtny Vandervelde – Courtny has worked primarily in the field of fundraising and marketing and is currently Manager of Business Development for Princess Margaret Cancer Foundation. She has a broad background and interest, with particular knowledge of healthcare, education and community services. Having lived in our local community, Courtny has solid knowledge of the changes and challenges that have taken place over the years and has been active on the ACS Board since 2013. Having previously volunteered with church groups and local committees, Courtny looks forward to working with others to enhance the quality of life for members of the Ancaster community.

Sherry Parsley B.A., M.S.W. (Secretary)-Sherry Parsley is very pleased for the opportunity to serve on the Ancaster Community Services’ Board of Directors and to work with local staff and volunteers in order to better our community.  Sherry is the Executive Director of Community Living Hamilton and joined that organization in 2011 following over 15 years with leadership roles in the health care sector.   She holds Master’s and Bachelor’s degrees in Social Work from McMaster University as well as a Bachelor of Arts degree conferred by Memorial University of Newfoundland.   In addition to her volunteer work with the ACS Board, Sherry is a member of the Board of Directors of OASIS -Ontario Agencies Supporting Individuals with Special Needs.

Tony Mansfield (Treasurer)-Tony and his family moved to the Ancaster area 4 years ago and it has been a wonderful experience for them.  Tony and his wife Tammy have very active 10 year-old twin boys who are involved in Hockey, Baseball & Tennis. In addition to his full time job, as an Advisor at TD Wealth, you will likely see Tony around the hockey rink throughout the winter, playing, coaching or cheering on his boys.

Jennifer Jewitt-Matsumoto (Vice Chairperson)

Linda Dayler BA,. MPA., DM. -Linda Dayler recently retired after 14 years as the Executive Director of Catholic Family Services of Hamilton and 45 years in health and social services in Hamilton. She has a Diploma in Nursing from St. Joseph’s School of Nursing and began her career in pediatrics at St Joseph’s Hospital. She worked for the Victorian Order of Nurses and was a Director of Nursing in Long Term Care. On completion of her BA in Gerontology and Sociology from McMaster University she went on to complete her Master’ s in Public Administration at Queen’s University. This led to the role of Assistant Executive Director of the District Health Council of Hamilton and 12 years as the Executive Director and Community Developer for the Trauma Prevention Council of Central West Ontario. In 2011 she completed her Doctorate in Management and Leadership from the University of Phoenix.  Linda has three adult sons and three grandchildren. Currently she lives in Ancaster with her husband David and is looking forward to the next phase of her life as an active member of the Ancaster Community.

Randy Osatchuk – joined the ACS Board in 2014 , Randy comes with much knowledge of Ancaster and has been very much involved in other aspects of the not for profit area especially with his involvement with Theatre Ancaster, and future Ancaster Arts Centre.

Wendi Van Exan-Wendi has lived in Ancaster for 42 years and has been involved in the community for most of those years mainly through volunteer work. For many years she managed Traveler’s Tree, a full service travel agency on Wilson Street. During that time she served on the Business Association (prior to the current BIA) in various executive positions.   When she left Traveler’s Tree she joined the Ancaster Heritage Days committee and served in various positions including that of Co-Chair for the last 3 years. She is currently Chairperson of the Heritage Days Board of Directors and is still volunteering for the 2016 Heritage Days event. Wendy also currently volunteers for the Ancaster Film Fest and has helped out with the Ancaster Community Services’ Christmas Assistance program.

Michael Richards

Scott Massey

Matthew Gibson

Steven Bereziuk B.A.- Steve has been a proud member of the Ancaster community since 1987. In this time, he has had the unique pleasure of being raised in this beautiful township, and has now chosen to raise his own young family here. Steve has witnessed and experienced the incredible growth and progress in this community over the years. As a result, he has garnered a strong understanding of Ancaster’s diversity and the various aspects of the community at large. Steve graduated from McMaster University with a B.A., and is a 14 year veteran of the Hamilton Police Service. Currently, he is a Sergeant who operates as a Detective in the Professional Standards Branch. Steve has developed a breadth of knowledge, and a unique and varied skill set, which will add to the effectiveness of the service delivery provided by the Ancaster Community Services. He is proud to serve the Ancaster community as a member of the ACS Board of Directors.